NSW Hall of Fame Kicks On

Jan Lindrum_2018.jpg

Snooker and Billiards NSW must be commended for a fantastic tribute to over 100 years of Snooker and Billiards in NSW. In 2017 the Association run by a group of volunteers decided to make things special for the 100 year anniversary of the sport in NSW. In conjunction with the inaugural Ian Chappell Snooker Classic held at Blacktown Workers Club in Sydney, they introduced the long over due NSW Hall of Fame.

The special occasion was boosted with a fantastic black tie dinner on the Saturday night following a solid day of snooker. The event attracted 150 players and guests and was a huge success. In that year, the likes of current players being Joe Minici, Glen Wilkisnon, Kathy Parashis and Warren King were all inducted into the Hall of Fame. However it was an opportunity to recognise many of the past legends in NSW such as Eddie Charlton, Les Manglesdorf, Geoff Miller, Les Hayes, Warren Simpson and Phil Tarrant.

Then in July 2018 the crew backed it up again with another spectacular and again during the 2nd Ian Chappell Snooker at Blacktown. It was a great effort and lots of hard work by the team and in particular Snooker and Billiards NSW Secretary Jeff Farrugia who was also the Tournament Director for the event.

Ian Chappell_2018.jpg

This time around, the Hall of Fame saw the legendary Horace Lindrum inducted as the past legend. His Daughter Jan Lindrum, was present to receive the award and gave a great speech highlighting the fantastic story behind the Lindrum name.

Following the induction of Horace, two greats of NSW Snooker and Billiards were inducted. Roger Farebrother (Snooker) and Michael Pearson (Billiards) were honored in receiving the award.

The event was well received by players, officials and special guests and was attended by VIP’s from Blacktown Workers and other key supporting clubs in NSW such as Mingara, Mounties and Marconi.

I am told that year 3 for the Ian Chappell Snooker will be even bigger and the Hall of Fame inductions will carry on. But who will be the forerunners to be inducted in 2019? Well done to the Snooker and Billiards of NSW team with special mention again to Jeff Farrugia, Carlie Tait, Dave Waller, Neville Moore, Stuart Tait, Todd Hayward and Alex Render.